FPS logo
Sweeney-Dodds logo
Upcoming Events
Area news
Warrior gridders wrap up 2010 at awards banquet

FPS staff report

Carrollton High School football banquet
Receiving Special Awards at the annual Carrollton High School football banquet are from left to right - Brandon Howell, Ray Arkenburgh, Johnny Lowdermilk, Robbie Smith, Sam Pozderac, Zach Ketchum and Codi Casper.

The Carrollton High School football teams’ 2010 campaign came to an official end Nov. 27 at the annual awards banquet held at Days Inn.

Warrior head coach Dan Detwiler, along with his coaching staff, presented players, cheerleaders and support staff with special awards, varsity letters, certificates of participation and thank you’s for all their hard work during the season.

Coach Detwiler handed out five Special Awards: Best Offensive Lineman, senior Sam Pozderac; Best Offensive Back/Receiver, senior Rob Smith; Best Defensive Lineman, senior Zach Ketchum; Best Defensive Back/Linebacker, senior Johnny Lowdermilk; Coaches Award, senior Ray Arkenburgh, senior Brandon Howell and senior Codi Casper.

Eight Warriors received their third-year varsity letter. They were Casper, senior Robert Hartong, Ketchum, Lowdermilk, senior Cole Fleming, Howell, junior Ben Knotts and Pozderac.

Eight received their second-year varsity letters. They are junior Damon Anderson, senior Chris Ericksen, junior Brody Rehfus, Smith, Arkenburgh, senior Gage Orwick, senior Tyler Sheets and junior Cody Walker.

Ten received their first-year letters. They are junior Kyle Davis, sophomore Stephen Ericksen, senior Robbie Kaltenbaugh, sophomore Austin Miller, sophomore Jake Peterson, sophomore Cody Stragan, junior Clint Devine, sophomore Joe Grubbs, sophomore Dakota Maple, sophomore Caleb Moyer and junior Tucker Williams.

Twelve team members received Certificates of Participation. They are sophomore Richard Anderson, junior Kyser Clark, junior Brian Ferren, sophomore J. R. Hull, sophomore Connor Mosley, junior Cody Snoeberger, sophomore David Archer, sophomore Garrett Davis, sophomore Caleb Hartong, junior Adam Miller, sophomore Storm Mohn and sophomore Ryan Spahr.

Those being named to the All-Northeastern Buckeye Conference team are Lowdermilk and Smith, first team; Sheets, Damon Anderson and Ketchum, second team, and Casper, Chris Ericksen and Pozderac, honorable mention.

Earning NBC Scholar Athlete awards for earning a varsity letter and carrying a 3.4 grade point average are Arkenburgh, Casper, Chris Ericksen, Howell, Ketchum, Lowdermilk, Smith, Stephen Ericksen, Dakota Maple and Peterson.

Receiving All-Eastern District honors are Lowdermilk and Ketchum, first team; Smith, second team; Sheets, Damon Anderson, Casper, Pozderac, Chris Ericksen and Maple, honorable mention.

Lowdermilk led the Warriors in rushing and passing. He rushed for 853 yards and 15 touchdowns and passed for 1,508 yards and 12 scores.

Damon Anderson was right behind Lowdermilk in rushing with 852 yards on 95 carries and 9 touchdowns.

Receiving, Smith finished with 37 catches for 744 yards and 9 touchdowns, while Sheets grabbed 36 balls for 433 yards and a pair of touchdowns. Chris Ericksen added 17 catches for 177 yards and a touchdown.

Defensively, Lowdermilk led the Warriors with 106 tackles, and two pass interceptions.

Casper was next with 94 tackles, followed by Smith with 70, Chris Ericksen with 68 and Damon Anderson with 54. Rehfus led the Warriors in quarterback sacks with three.

The cheerleaders were also recognized for their hard work.  The two squads were coached by Stacy Barto and Tabby Ferren. Varsity members are Tori Ritchie, Rebecca Soisson, Alyssa Willson, Kailey Kennedy, Brandy Marks and Louisa Rhodes, and junior varsity members are Megan Dowell, Abby Hallett, Kaci Johnson, Elli Drake, Brittney Host and Annabel Vernier.

Earning NBC Scholar Athlete awards were Soisson, Kennedy and Marks.

Comment on this story
Before You Post

The Free Press Standard invites you to post your thoughts on the story in the box below.

  • However, before you post, please read these few basic rules.
  • Be appropriate. Posts with obscene, explicit, sexist or racist language will be deleted.
  • Be polite. Posts containing personal attacks, insults, or threats will be deleted.
  • Be honest. Potentially libelous statements will be deleted.
  • Don't 'spam'. Posts advertising or promoting commercial products will be deleted.
  • Help monitor your community. Click "Report Abuse" on any entry that violates these guidelines.
  • This is your forum, with your opinions.

These posts do not reflect the views of the The Free Press Standard or its employees.


©2010 The Free Press Standard
Contact the webmaster at: bevans@freepressstandard.com

This website is best viewed in:
Firefox 3 
Warriors win opener over Claymont
Warrior gridders wrap up 2010 at awards banquet
Carrollton wrestlers 5th at Copley
Lady Warriors still looking for first win
Warrior boys bowlers start at 1-1, Lady Warriors are 2-0
Malvern over East Canton by 11, Sandy and Minerva tripped
Minerva’s Lady Lions down Edison by 30 before falling to Louisville
Area bowling results