Free Press Standard logo


(From 1950 FPS Files)

Wanda Lee Aston of Sherrodsville was named first place winner in the annual Prince of Peace Declamation contest.

The congregation of Carrollton First Methodist Church held a farewell for Rev. and Mrs. Bernard T. Lomas who accepted his new duties at the University Church in Delaware, OH.

Lloyd Leatherberry of Augusta Twp. won first prize in the annual B & O Railroad Soil Conservation contest.

Coyla (Corkie) Smith of Carrollton began her duties at the Cummings Bank Company.

(From 1960 FPS Files)

The Carroll County Parent-Teachers Association Council voted to organize a Carroll County Scholarship and Citizenship Booster Club.

Tim Hartong, a senior at Carrollton High School, was named as a guard to the third team offense of the Class AA-All Ohio team by the Associated Press.

A ceremony was set for Dec. 13 to officially open the new relocation of St. Rts. 43 and 80 around Malvern.

Receiving Efficiency awards at Carrollton High School’s football banquet were Gary Magee, Tim Hartong, Reid McClester, Doug Pitts, Bill Marshall and Larry Dugger.

(From 1970 FPS Files)

After a five-year vacancy, the postmaster’s position at the Carrollton Post Office was filled with appointment of Ronald P. Davis of Rt. 4, Carrollton.

E. E. Surbey was elected president of the Carrollton Chamber of Commerce.

Robert A. Frampton, who served as mayor of Carrollton for 20 years, died Dec. 4 at his home at the age of 66.

John H. Weir of Rt. 1, Carrollton, was elected treasurer of the Ohio Farm Bureau Federation.

The Carrollton Warriors opened their basketball season with an 82-58 victory over Beaver Local.

(From 1980 FPS files)

Parking restrictions on 5th St. NE and Stewart Ave. were set by Carrollton Village Council.

Carrollton Board of Education approved a 5% pay hike for the treasurer Pat Brumbaugh, raising her salary from $14,917 to $15,667.

Vance Leggett and Linda Schall were elected presidents of the Carroll County Young Farmers and Carroll County Young Farm Wives.

Catherine F. Jones was installed as worthy matron of Carroll chapter 315 Order of Eastern Star.

Eight Carrollton High School instrumental music students were selected to play in a 100-piece select band conducted by Donald E. McGinnis, former conductor of the Ohio State University concert band, at the District VIII Ohio Music Education Association conference at Perry High School. They included Penny Bray, Nancy Michel, Kim Mallarnee, Pat Jurkiewicz, Debbie Johnson, Steve Arbogast, Doug Rice and Richard Morgan.

(From 1990 FPS files)

Carrollton’s new Safety building on 3rd St. SW was beginning to take shape.

Countywide zoning was discussed by the Carroll County Regional Panning Commission.

Megan Brumbaugh, a fourth grader at Dellroy school, earned a fifth place ribbon in the year-end standings in the Youth Activity All Around category for ages 10 and under of the Central Ohio Saddle Club Association’s competition.

Two longtime employees of Carrollton Graphics were honored at a retirement luncheon held at Atwood Resort. They included Geraldine DeVault and Evelyn Ray, with 29 and 24 years of service, respectively.

Betty Lockhart of 3276 Cobbler Rd., Carrollton, was promoted to housekeeper supervisor at Carroll Golden Age Retreat.

<< Back to Mobile Edition