FPS logo
Sweeney-Dodds logo
Upcoming Events
Legal Notices
Carrollton gridders Stragan, Maple, Ericksen named to NBC first team

FPS staff report

The Carrollton High School football placed three players on the All-NBC first team, named recently by the eight NBC head coaches.

Named to the first team were seniors Cody Stragan at linebacker, Dakota Maple at offensive tackle and Stephen Ericksen at center.

Earning second team honors for the Warriors were senior running back Jake Peterson, junior nose tackle Austin Bentley and sophomore running back/linebacker Tyler Dodd.

Carrollton also had three players receive honorable - seniors Connor Mosley at defensive tackle, Austin Miller at linebacker and Storm Mohn at wide receiver.

Minerva had two players earn All-NBC first team honors - senior Jake Riley at quarterback and Mitch Soles at running back and linebacker.

Second team honors went to juniors Mason Butler at center, Cody Parris at wide receiver and sophomore Dalton Hartshorn at wide receiver.

Those receiving honorable mention were sophomore Billy Eyer at tight end, junior Jake Smith on the offensive line and sophomore Wylie Brown, also on the offensive line.

Marlington senior Dymonte Thomas was named Player of the Year and D. J. Dota of West Branch Coach of the Year.

West Branch won the NBC with a 6-1 record, with Marlington second at 5-2.

Carrollton, Canton South and Alliance all tied for third. Louisville had its first-ever losing record in the NBC with a 3-4 mark to place sixth. Minerva was seventh with a league mark of 2-5 and Salem was eighth, going winless in the conference.

Dymonte Thomas, Marlington, Sr. 6-1,190; Brenden Wells, West Branch, Sr. 5-9, 195; Trent Ohman, Louisville, Sr. 6-0; Josh Kenny, Canton South, Sr. 6-1, 230; Bo Utley, West Branch; Kordelle Phillips, Alliance, Jr. 5-10, 165; Cody Stragan, Carrollton, Sr. 5-10, 145, LB; Noah Mallen, Canton South, Sr. 6-2, 165, WR; Jake Riley, Minerva, Sr. 6-3, 210, QB; Parrish Martin, Alliance, Jr. 5-10, 165, RB; Zach Ruggles, West Branch, Sr. 6-0, 235, TE; Dakota Maple, Carrollton, Sr. 6-3, 285, TACK; Jake Walker, Marlington, Jr. 5-8, 155, WR; Connor Sharp, West Branch, Sr., 6-4, 275, C; John Strasser, Canton South, Sr., 5-8, 175, DB; Cory Neff, Louisville Jr.,  5-9, 230, DT; Stephen Ericksen, Carrollton, Sr., 6-4, 275, C; Logan Taylor, Salem, Jr., 6-2, 186, LB; Ryan Bevington, Alliance, Jr., 6-1, 170, WR; Shawn Kirk, Marlington, Jr., 5-11, 185, QB; Anthony Collins, Marlington, Jr., 5-8, 230, DT; Josh Lyon, Canton South, Jr., 6-3, 185, QB; Mitch Soles, Minerva, Sr.; 5-10, 190, LB; Jacob Griffith, West Branch, Sr., 6-5, 285, T.

Alliance: J. J. Kukura, Seth McConnell, Adontis Watson; Canton South: Deonte Settles, Terry Williams, Armand Fontes; Carrollton: Austin Bentley, Jake Peterson, Tyler; Louisville: Charles Beamer, Jeremy McQuilkin, Alex Schooley; Marlington: Steven Masters, Anthony Wilks, Gaige Glass; Minerva: Mason Butler, Cody Parrish, Dalton Hartshorn; Salem: Jake Carmer, Haedan Panezott, Marcus Crittenden; West Branch: Troy James, Jerry Sanor, Tyler Pidgeon.

Alliance: Kofi Amponsah, Michael Williams, Marcus Williams; Canton South: Jason Merriweather, Dejon Newell, Zaire Daniels; Carrollton: Connor Mosley, Austin Miller, Storm Mohn; Louisville: Gary Anile, Aaron Carter, Trevor Hostetler; Marlington: Austin Hoover, Dan Krupko, Matt Jakubiak; Minerva: Billy Eyer, Jake Smith, Wiley Brown; Salem: Brenden Webb, Mike Madison, Nick Larson; West Branch: Logan Sharp, Brandon Woolf, Stephen Sosnick.

Comment on this story
Before You Post

The Free Press Standard invites you to post your thoughts on the story in the box below.

  • However, before you post, please read these few basic rules.
  • Be appropriate. Posts with obscene, explicit, sexist or racist language will be deleted.
  • Be polite. Posts containing personal attacks, insults, or threats will be deleted.
  • Be honest. Potentially libelous statements will be deleted.
  • Don't 'spam'. Posts advertising or promoting commercial products will be deleted.
  • Help monitor your community. Click "Report Abuse" on any entry that violates these guidelines.
  • This is your forum, with your opinions.

These posts do not reflect the views of the The Free Press Standard or its employees.


©2012 The Free Press Standard
Contact the webmaster at: bevans@freepressstandard.com

Malvern falls to Youngstown Christian
Carrollton girls soccer season ends at annual awards event
Carrollton gridders Stragan, Maple, Ericksen named to NBC first team
Brown, Wolford are NBC first team