FPS logo
Sweeney-Dodds logo
Upcoming Events
Legal Notices
Lowdermilk, Starre selected Northeastern Buckeye Conference first teamers

FPS staff report

The Northeastern Buckeye Conference coaches met recently and selected the All-NBC girls teams for 2013.

Carrollton had two players earn first team honors, senior Taylor Lowdermilk and sophomore Monica Starre.

Lowdermilk led the Warriors, who finished an excellent season at 19-6, in scoring with an 11.3 points per game average, while Starre averaged just over nine points per outing.

Earning second team honors for the Warriors was sophomore Savana Lowery, while sophomore Rachel Devine and freshman Ali Poole each received honorable mention.

Minerva senior Lorin Clark was also named to the first team, while senior Raychel Blocher received second team honors. Jacklyn Russell and Mayson Hardgrove each received honorable mention.

Sophomore Melinda Trimmer from West Branch was named Player of the Year for helping the Warriors win the NBC title.

Coach of the Year honors went to Louisville head coach Garee McCully.

2013 All-Northeastern Buckeye Conference Girls Basketball First team
Taylor Lowdermilk, Carrollton Sr.; Monica Starre, Carrollton So.; Jordan Monnot, Louisville Sr.; Clara Lemmon, Louisville Sr.;  Lorin Clark, Minerva Sr.; Melinda Trimmer, West Branch So.; Pavin Heath, West Branch So.

Player of the Year Melinda Trimmer, West Branch
Coach of the Year Garee McCully, Louisville

Second team
Hunter Harris, Canton South So.; Savana Lowery, Carrollton So.; Hannah Lemmon, Louisville Sr.; Ali Rodgers, Marlington So.; Raychel Blocher, Minerva Sr.; Lindsey Foster, Salem Sr.; Brittany Bryte, West Branch Sr.

Honorable mention
Emily Retterer, Alliance; Shania Mays, Alliance; Katie Uminski, Canton South; Joelle Martin, Canton South; Ali Poole, Carrollton; Rachel Devine, Carrollton; Hollyanne Mullet, Louisville; Emily Nees, Louisville; Morgan Penird, Marlington; Sierra Mayle, Marlington; Jacklyn Russell, Minerva; Mayson Hardgrove, Minerva; Katherine Stiff, Salem; Morgan Lehwald, Salem; Amanda Linhart, West Branch; Taryn Hahn, West Branch.

Comment on this story
Before You Post

The Free Press Standard invites you to post your thoughts on the story in the box below.

  • However, before you post, please read these few basic rules.
  • Be appropriate. Posts with obscene, explicit, sexist or racist language will be deleted.
  • Be polite. Posts containing personal attacks, insults, or threats will be deleted.
  • Be honest. Potentially libelous statements will be deleted.
  • Don't 'spam'. Posts advertising or promoting commercial products will be deleted.
  • Help monitor your community. Click "Report Abuse" on any entry that violates these guidelines.
  • This is your forum, with your opinions.

These posts do not reflect the views of the The Free Press Standard or its employees.

Warriors  bow out in District title game
Malvern falls to Hiland 56-51
Lowdermilk, Starre selected Northeastern Buckeye Conference first teamers
Area bowling results