FPS logo
Sweeney-Dodds logo
Upcoming Events
Legal Notices
Ericksen, Collins, Peterson and Deitz selected to All-NBC teams

FPS staff report

The eight Northeastern Buckeye Conference head boys basketball coaches met recently and voted on the All-NBC team for 2012-13 season.

Carrollton senior Stephen Ericksen was voted onto the first team. Ericksen led the Warriors in scoring with just over 14 points per game.

Senior Andrew Collins was named to the second team. Collins was second in scoring for the Warriors with just under 12 points per game.

Senior Jake Peterson and sophomore Zade Deitz each received honorable mention.

The Minerva Lions didn’t have a first team selection, but junior Jantsen Locke, who led the Lions in scoring with a 16.7 per game average, was named to the second team.

The Lions had two players receive honorable mention, Billy Eyer and Nick Clapper.

Marlington senior Lucas Strouble was named the NBC Player of the Year for the second straight year. Canton South head coach Frank Spotleson was named Coach of the Year by the coaches.

Also being named to the first team were Alliance junior J. J. Kukura and Parrish Martin; Senior Armand Fontes from Canton South and senior Ryan Bush and Anthony Shivers from Salem.

All-NBC First team
J. J. Kukura, Alliance, 6-2, Jr.; Parrish, Alliance, 6-0, Jr.; Armand Fontes, Canton South, 5-10, Sr.; Stephen Ericksen, Carrollton, 6-4, Sr.; Lucas Strouble, Marlington, 6-5, Sr.; Ryan Bush, Salem, 6-1, Sr.; Anthony Shivers, Salem, 6-6, Sr..
Player of the Year: Lucas Strouble, Marlington
Coach of the Year: Frank Spotleson, Canton South.

Second team
Kordelle Phillips, Alliance, 5-8, Jr.; Trey Taylor, Canton South, 6-2, Sr.; Andrew Collins, Carrollton, 6-0, Sr.; Blake Hoover, Louisville, 6-4, So.; Shawn Kirk, Marlington, 5-1, Jr.; Jantsen Locke, Minerva, 6-0, Jr..

Honorable Mention
Zaviay Thomas, Alliance and Marques Williams, Alliance; Josh Lyon, Austin Joliffe, Canton South; Jake Peterson and Zade Deitz, Carrollton; Bryce Mathie and Alex Schooley, Louisville; Micah Hall and Dan Krupko, Marlington; Billy Eyer and Nick Clapper, Minerva; Brendan Webb and Max Wolfgang, Salem; Kip DeShields and Drake Lohnes, West Branch.

Comment on this story
Before You Post

The Free Press Standard invites you to post your thoughts on the story in the box below.

  • However, before you post, please read these few basic rules.
  • Be appropriate. Posts with obscene, explicit, sexist or racist language will be deleted.
  • Be polite. Posts containing personal attacks, insults, or threats will be deleted.
  • Be honest. Potentially libelous statements will be deleted.
  • Don't 'spam'. Posts advertising or promoting commercial products will be deleted.
  • Help monitor your community. Click "Report Abuse" on any entry that violates these guidelines.
  • This is your forum, with your opinions.

These posts do not reflect the views of the The Free Press Standard or its employees.

Lady Warrior cagers close out season at awards fete
Ericksen, Collins, Peterson and Deitz selected to All-NBC teams
District 5 East-West All-Star games are Friday
Area bowling results