FPS logo
Sweeney-Dodds logo
Upcoming Events
Legal Notices
Warrior cagers wrap up season at awards banquet

FPS staff report

Carrollton high school boys basketball banquet
Earning special awards at the recently held Carrollton basketball banquet were (from left): In front - Caleb Hartong and Stephen Ericksen. Behind - Jake Peterson and Andrew Collins.

The Carrollton High School boys basketball team wrapped up its season last Monday night at the annual banquet held in the high school cafeteria.

Head Coach Matt Voll and assistants Craig Brooks, Mike Aukerman and Josh DeCarlo handed out Special Awards and varsity letters to members of the team.

The Warriors had another fine season under Coach Voll, finishing with an overall record of 19-6.

Senior Stephen Ericksen was honored with three special awards - Most Points, Most Rebounds and Best Field Goal Percentage. He was also presented with a basketball for scoring 1,000 points in his high school career.

Ericksen is a four-year letter winner, was named first team All-NBC, Eastern District and District 5. He is an NBC Scholar Athlete for earning a varsity letter and carrying a 3.4 grade point average. He is Academic All-Ohio and also garnered All-Ohio Special Mention honors.

Senior Andrew Collins received the Best Foul Shooting award. He earned his third-year varsity letter. He was named All-NBC and District 5 second team and Eastern District special mention.

Senior Jake Peterson received the Most Steals and Most Assists awards. Peterson also earned his third year letter. He was named All-NBC and District 5 honorable mention and Eastern District special mention. He is also a NBC Scholar Athlete.

Senior Caleb Hartong received the Warriors Award. Hartong earned his second year varsity letter. He is also an NBC Scholar Athlete and was named Eastern District honorable mention.

Earning their second year letters were Zade Deitz, Caleb Pasiuk, Tyler Krantz, Justin Lovett and Adam Warner.

Deitz was also named honorable mention on the All-NBC and Eastern District teams.

Earning their first year letters were Mirko Dobrijevic and Zac Brown.

Members of the junior varsity and freshmen team received Certificates of Participation. JV players are Jimmy Bales, Luke Clay, Sam Dowell, Deven Hezoucky, Brandon Johnson, Mason Albrecht, Troy Fairclough, Andrew Knapp, Daniel Leary, Nathan Wilsford and Avery Wilson.

Freshmen are Drake Anderson, Isaiah Donohue, John Featheringham, Sean Gang, Giovanni Gonzalez-Perez, Dakota Jenret, Luke Leslie Matt Mercer, Jimmy O’Donnell, Codey Ocheltree, Gabe Owens, Cody Pyles and Charles Smith.

Also earning NBC Scholar Athlete awards were Dobrijevic, Pasiuk, Krantz and Deitz.

The Carrollton varsity, junior varsity and freshmen cheerleaders were also recognized for their efforts during the season.

Members of the varsity team are Megan Dowell, Abby Hallett, Brittney Host, Erin Green, Katelynn Lashley, Missy Mercer, Lindsay Schandel and Kayla Wade. They were coached by Tonya Trussell.

Junior varsity members are Payton Brown, Cheyenne Chaney, Jennifer Gotschall, Abbey Knapp, Alexis Kurtz, Laurynn Mann, Maggie Mapes and Cheyenne Russell. They were coached by Tabby Ferren.

Freshmen are Sierra Baker, Maygen Bales, Makaela Bennett, Kaitlyn Budinsky, Sarah Donley, Elizabeth Rainsberg, Alyssa Sellers and Kayla Sivets.
They were coached this past season by Kayla Pape.

Dowell, Hallett and Host each received their second year letters, while Green, Lashley, Mercer, Schandel and Wade each their first year letter.

Earning All-NBC Scholar Athlete awards were Dowell, Green, Lashley, Mercer, Schandel and Wade.

Comment on this story
Before You Post

The Free Press Standard invites you to post your thoughts on the story in the box below.

  • However, before you post, please read these few basic rules.
  • Be appropriate. Posts with obscene, explicit, sexist or racist language will be deleted.
  • Be polite. Posts containing personal attacks, insults, or threats will be deleted.
  • Be honest. Potentially libelous statements will be deleted.
  • Don't 'spam'. Posts advertising or promoting commercial products will be deleted.
  • Help monitor your community. Click "Report Abuse" on any entry that violates these guidelines.
  • This is your forum, with your opinions.

These posts do not reflect the views of the The Free Press Standard or its employees.

Warrior cagers wrap up season at awards banquet
Lowery tosses opening day no hitter
Lady Warriors’ Owens throws no hitter in season opener
Warrior boys 4th, girls 5th at invite
Area bowling results