FPS logo
Sweeney-Dodds logo
Upcoming Events
Legal Notices
State tournament second place wrestler Joey Miller carries off bulk of hardware

FPS staff report

Carrollton High School wrestling banquetCarrollton senior Joey Miller was honored with four special awards at last Wednesday’s Carrollton High School wrestling banquet held in the high school cafeteria.

The Warriors had another excellent season under head coach Ken Pasiuk.

They finished with an overall record of 21-6 and placed second in the Northeastern Buckeye Conference with a 6-1 mark.

Pasiuk thanked his coaching staff and everyone who helped make the season a great success.

“I work with a great coaching staff,” Pasiuk said. “I would like to thank them for their hard work and also the people behind the scenes that made this season possible.

“Also, I want to thank the kids. We have some awesome young men in our program at all levels and it was a pleasure working with each and every one of them.”

Miller, who placed second in the 120-pound weight class at this year’s state wrestling tournament, received the Most Takedowns, Most Pins, Most Wins and Most Valuable Wrestler awards.

Senior Connor Mosley was honored with the Coaches Award and junior Austin Bentley the Warrior Award.

Receiving their first year varsity letters were Richard Anderson, Kalub Babe, Micah Campbell, Tyler Dodd, Jon Dunlap, Joey Galbraith, Eric Jefferys, Joey Knipp, Matt Hoopes, J. R. Hull, Storm Mohn, Vince Piecynski, Andrew Rector and Zach Wallace.

Earning second year varsity letters were C. J. Brady, Austin Brooks, Justin Johnson, Mosley, Dustin Pape, Tyler Saunier, Cody Stragan, Bentley, Dakota Maple and Jordon Houyouse.

Tristan Stallard earned his third year letter and Joey Miller his fourth year letter.

Receiving certificates of participation were Zach Blake, Levi Castle, Jacob Casto, Jimmy Galbraith, Chanc Goshorn, Sage Graham, Justin Hillyer, Michael Howell, Hunter Johnston, Jacob Ketchum, Trenton Leggett, Dillen Lewis, Tomas Malone, Teague Malone, Collin Miller, Curtis Moyer, Bret Rininger, Logan Russ, Matt Schaney, Blake Schlemmer and Brennan Thomas.

Carrollton had five wrestlers qualified for the State Tournament, Joey Miller (120), Stallard (145), Austin Miller (182), Tyler Dodd (195) and Bentley (220).

They had 11 wrestlers qualify for the District Tournament - Brady (106) Joey Miller (120), Pape (126), Knipp (132), Stallard (145), Dunlap (160), Mosley (170), Austin Miller (182), Dodd (195), Bentley (220) and Houyouse (285).

Earning spots on the All-NBC first team were Brady, Joey Miller and Bentley. Named to the second team were Stallard and Mosley and receiving honorable mention were Knipp and Stragan.

The Warriors have six wrestlers who also take care of business in the classroom and earned All NBC Scholar Athletes awards for earning a varsity letter and carrying a 3.4 grade point average. They are Brooks, Dunlap, Johnson, Knipp, Mohn and Pape.

Comment on this story
Before You Post

The Free Press Standard invites you to post your thoughts on the story in the box below.

  • However, before you post, please read these few basic rules.
  • Be appropriate. Posts with obscene, explicit, sexist or racist language will be deleted.
  • Be polite. Posts containing personal attacks, insults, or threats will be deleted.
  • Be honest. Potentially libelous statements will be deleted.
  • Don't 'spam'. Posts advertising or promoting commercial products will be deleted.
  • Help monitor your community. Click "Report Abuse" on any entry that violates these guidelines.
  • This is your forum, with your opinions.

These posts do not reflect the views of the The Free Press Standard or its employees.

State tournament second place wrestler Joey Miller carries off bulk of hardware
Lowdermilk named first team District 5
Three Warriors named All District 5
Tucci steps down at Malvern
Area bowling results