FPS logo
Sweeney-Dodds logo
Upcoming Events
Legal Notices
Seck to head Carrollton board second straight year

By Carol McIntire

Rose Seck was re-elected president and Helen Skinner vice president of the Carrollton Exempted Village School District Board of Education during a Jan. 8 meeting.

It will be Seck’s second year as president.

The board agreed to meet the second Tuesday of each month with the exception of June and November. Those meetings will be held June 28 and Nov. 5. No meeting is held in July.

Skinner was appointed Legislative Liaison; Seck as delegate to the Ohio School Boards Association (OSBA) and Mike Pozderac as alternate; Wendy Gotschall was named Student Achievement liaison and to hear student expulsion appeals. Superintendent Dr. David Quattrochi and Director of Programs Ed Robinson will also hear appeals for suspensions and expulsions.

Skinner and Seck were named to head up the Transportation Committee; Gotschall and Pozderac to the Athletic Committee; Bonnie Little and Skinner to the Policies Committee; Seck and Little to the Curriculum Committee; Gotschall and Pozderac to Buildings and Grounds and Finances; and Skinner and Seck to the Technology Committee.

During the regular board meeting, the school board:
-HEARD a report from Dellroy Principal Robert Dorety on the Third Grade Reading Guarantee. He noted 14 students are not on track and plans have been made to address each student’s weakness.

-HEARD Augusta Principal Christine Hull report on the school’s new A-B-C recognition. The program recognizes students each month for A – Attitude; B- Best Effort; and C- Citizenship. Students recognized during September incuded: Hailee Ulman, Tannah Householder, Candice Wade, Emily Shepherd, Faith Dillon, Mason Miller and Matthew Carlton. October winners included: Jacob Whitmore, Andrew Lane, Kaleb Whitmore, Layne Green, Ella Little, Harli Ulman and Dakota Johnson. December winners included: Danny Wiley, Destinee Barber, Michael Geckler, Lindsay Hendon, Cecelia Corbin, Brady Benner and Holly Shepherd.

-APPROVED membership in the OSBA at a cost of $5,500.

-APPROVED a school calendar for 2013-14 that sets the first day of school as Aug. 21 and the last day as May 29.

-APPROVED an equipment lease with the Carroll County Board of Developmental Disabilities.

-APPROVED the request of Vikkilyn Seck, bus driver, for unpaid leave from Dec. 10, 2012, through April 2, 2013.

-HIRED Michelle Whitmore as a classified substitute for the remainder of the school year, effective Jan. 9.

Comment on this story
Before You Post

The Free Press Standard invites you to post your thoughts on the story in the box below.

  • However, before you post, please read these few basic rules.
  • Be appropriate. Posts with obscene, explicit, sexist or racist language will be deleted.
  • Be polite. Posts containing personal attacks, insults, or threats will be deleted.
  • Be honest. Potentially libelous statements will be deleted.
  • Don't 'spam'. Posts advertising or promoting commercial products will be deleted.
  • Help monitor your community. Click "Report Abuse" on any entry that violates these guidelines.
  • This is your forum, with your opinions.

These posts do not reflect the views of the The Free Press Standard or its employees.

Malvern grad serving with U.S. Navy to attend Naval Academy
Michael Abraham elected president of Southern Local Board of Education
Three Conotton Valley seniors awarded Wheeling Jesuit University scholarships
Carrollton schools forming Safety Committee
Seck to head Carrollton board second straight year