FPS logo
Sweeney-Dodds logo
Upcoming Events
Legal Notices
Area teachers honored at Education Celebration

FPS staff report

Teachers and rookies of the year were honored at the Education Celebration Monday evening at R. G. Drage Career Center.  

The annual event honors the hard work and dedication of Stark County’s finest educators. Teachers from Malvern, Sandy Valley and Minerva were among those honored.

Rookie Educators honored have less than three years teaching experience, display a passion for his or her students, and use innovation in the classroom.  Rookies of the year honorees included Natalie Kee, Brown Local; Tiffany Ormiston, Minerva Local; and Kaila Bigler, Sandy Valley Local.

The All-County Teaching Team honorees display a history of going above and beyond to educate his or her students.  These teachers inspire students of all backgrounds and abilities to learn, have the respect and admiration of students, parents and colleagues, and play an active role in the community and their schools.  Teachers of the year included Dawn Kaufman, Brown Local; Jeffrey Kullman, Minerva; and Mary Bowman, Sandy Valley.

Jim Tressel, executive vice president for Student Success at the University of Akron, was the guest speaker. 

Comment on this story
Before You Post

The Free Press Standard invites you to post your thoughts on the story in the box below.

  • However, before you post, please read these few basic rules.
  • Be appropriate. Posts with obscene, explicit, sexist or racist language will be deleted.
  • Be polite. Posts containing personal attacks, insults, or threats will be deleted.
  • Be honest. Potentially libelous statements will be deleted.
  • Don't 'spam'. Posts advertising or promoting commercial products will be deleted.
  • Help monitor your community. Click "Report Abuse" on any entry that violates these guidelines.
  • This is your forum, with your opinions.

These posts do not reflect the views of the The Free Press Standard or its employees.

Carroll County Christian Academy students win state competition for seventh time
Carroll County Board of Developmental Disabilities approves contract for superintendent
Area teachers honored at Education Celebration
Mary Kean White Memorial scholarships are awarded