FPS logo
Sweeney-Dodds logo
Upcoming Events
Legal Notices
County sheriff, commissioner; state rep., state senate seats all contested at Nov. 6 general election

FPS staff report

There are only two contested races on the county level at the Nov. 6 general election.

Seeking the Jan. 2, 2013, term for Carroll County Commissioner are David Flanary, a Democrat; Robert Wirkner, a Republican, and Sheila Borntrager (write-in).

Thomas A. Wheaton, a Democrat, is unopposed for re-election to the Jan. 3 term.

In the two-way race for county sheriff, Incumbent Dale R. Williams, a Democrat, is being opposed by Eric S. Stanbro, who is seeking the office as an Independent.
Candidates for the seven other county offices are unopposed. They include: (D-Democrat; R-Republican)
For Prosecuting Attorney – Donald R. Burns Jr., R.
For Clerk of Court of Common Pleas – William R. Wohlwend, D.
For County Recorder – Patricia J. Oyer, R.
For County Treasurer – Jeff Yeager, R.
For County Engineer – Brian J. Wise, R.
For Coroner – Mandal B. Haas, R.
For Judge of the Court of Common Pleas – Dominick E. Olivito Jr., non partisan.

State Offices
Contested candidates for the two state offices are:
For State Representative (95th District) – Charlie Daniels, D; Andy Thompson, R.
For State Senator (30th District) – Lou Gentile, D; Shane Thompson.
Congressional Candidates
For Representative to Congress (6th District) – Bill Johnson, R; Charlie Wilson, D.
For U. S. Senator – Sherrod Brown, D; Josh Mandel, R; Scott A. Rupert, non party.

Judicial Candidates
For Judge of the Court of Appeals (7th District) – Mary DeGenaro and Mark Anthony Hanni.
For Justice of the Supreme Court (full term commencing Jan. 1, 2013)– Terrence O’Donnell and Mike Skindell.
For Justice of the Supreme Court (full term commencing Jan. 2, 2013)   Robert R. Cupp and William M. O’Neill.
For Justice of the Supreme Court (unexpired term ending Dec. 31, 2014)  Yvette McGee Brown and Sharon L. Kennedy.

Presidential Candidates
For President and Vice President – Barack Obama and Joe Biden, Democratic; Mitt Romney and Paul Ryan, Republican; Virgil Goode and Jim Clymer, Constitution; Jill Stein and Cheri Honkala, Green party; Gary Johnson and James P. Gray, Libertarian; Richard Duncan and Ricky Johnson, non party; Stewart Alexander and Alex Mendoza, Socialist.

Comment on this story
Before You Post

The Free Press Standard invites you to post your thoughts on the story in the box below.

  • However, before you post, please read these few basic rules.
  • Be appropriate. Posts with obscene, explicit, sexist or racist language will be deleted.
  • Be polite. Posts containing personal attacks, insults, or threats will be deleted.
  • Be honest. Potentially libelous statements will be deleted.
  • Don't 'spam'. Posts advertising or promoting commercial products will be deleted.
  • Help monitor your community. Click "Report Abuse" on any entry that violates these guidelines.
  • This is your forum, with your opinions.

These posts do not reflect the views of the The Free Press Standard or its employees.


©2012 The Free Press Standard
Contact the webmaster at: bevans@freepressstandard.com

Tabler takes her right to vote very seriously
Election officials predict large voter turnout Tuesday
County sheriff, commissioner; state rep., state senate seats all contested at Nov. 6 general election
Issues dot election ballot