FPS logo
Sweeney-Dodds logo
Upcoming Events
Area news
DSA awards presented

By Don Rutledge
FPS Associate Editor

DSA Award
The 2010 Distinguished Service Award recipients honored at the Carrollton Civic Club’s banquet last Thursday evening are Lynn Fox (second from left) and Dick Young (second from right), who are shown with their nominators Don Rutledge (left) and Bill Wohlwend.

Two longtime Carrollton residents who have contributed distinguished service to the community were honored at the Carrollton Civic Club’s annual Distinguished Service Award (DSA) banquet last Thursday evening at the Atwood Yacht Club.

Lynn Fox of 240 W. Main St., Carrollton, and Richard (Dick) Young of 1165 N. Lisbon St., Carrollton, received 2010 DSA plaques from William (Bill) Wohlwend upon being announced by Dennis Roudebush, the evening’s Master of Ceremonies.

Fox was nominated by Wohlwend and Don Rutledge while Young was nominated by Wohlwend. They join a list of 51 DSA recipients dating back to 1957 when the DSA program was first initiated by the former Carrollton Junior Chamber of Commerce which later became the Carrollton Jaycees.
In the first introduction, Fox was described as being a world known artist having been featured in publications and on television. “Mr. Fox has given many hours of his time and talent back to Carrollton. He has provided thousands of memories to many through his art and photography and has provided art work for the annual Coley’s Stag reunion,” Roudebush said.

Besides being an artist and an avid former bowler, Fox served as president of the Carrollton Junior Chamber of Commerce in 1957 and was Worshipful Master of Carroll Masonic Lodge in 1962. He served as a member of Carrollton Village Council for a number of year was also as Carrollton Mayor for 11 years.

Fox was also a form Metropolitan Insurance agent, owned Fox Studio and Coin Laundromat on W. Main St. Roudebush said Fox was also an avid golfer, local historian and great joke teller!”

A 1948 graduate of the former Dellroy High School, Fox is a son of the late Earl and Irma Fox. He joined the US Air Force and was assigned to the 3rd Bomb Wing during the Korean War.

He was married to the former Betty Gotschall April 2, 1955, and they have two sons, Matt (Darlene) who reside in New Philadelphia and Mitch (Barbara) of Carrollton, who were all present at last Thursday’s surprise dinner. Fox also has a brother, David, who resides in Opelika, AL, and a deceased brother, Donald.

Young was recognized as having always been a volunteer and supporter of the Carrollton Athletic program. “He worked extremely hard in securing and stopping the sale of the Veterans Memorial Swimming Pool this past year and made donations of his own money in that effort,” Roudebush noted.

Some of Young’s other contributions to the community included working on many Jaycee projects, helping build the Veterans Club and Pool. He also enjoys bowling golfing and baseball.

Young has been a member of the former Jaycees and Masons, Vets Club, having served as secretary-treasurer, and was president of the Carrollton Booster Club. Dick also volunteered as a driver to take players home after football practice, coached Little League Hot Stove baseball and was a referee for the Merchants Baseball teams.

He also ran the chains for home football games, cooked steaks for the Vets Club, Carroll Meadows, Carroll Electric, Atwood Yacht Club, Retired Railroaders yearly get-together, the Booster Club and the Church of Christ (Christian).

Young is a graduate of Salineville High School and is a US Air Force veteran and is a former employee of Huebner Chevrolet-Oldsmobile-Subaru. He and his wife, Cleo, have three sons, Danny, Donnie and Duane.

Judges for his year’s DSA competition were Dennis Roudebush, Brad Wheeler and Bill Wohlwend. All former DSA recipients present at the dinner were also recognized by Roudebush.

A Silent Auction was held during this year’s DSA banquet and included items donated by 14 businesses and individuals. All proceeds from the Silent Auction will be donated to the Civic Club’s scholarship fund from which $38,000 has been given in scholarships, Roudebush said.

Current Civic Club officers are Chris Jones, president; Dave Evans, vice president; Tom Konst, secretary, who observed his 54th birthday anniversary at the dinner, and Denny Roudebush, treasurer. Welcome remarks and invocation were given by E. Leroy VanHorne.

Byron Fairclough was the winner of the $60 50/50 drawing which he donated back to the Civic Club.

Comment on this story
Before You Post

The Free Press Standard invites you to post your thoughts on the story in the box below.

  • However, before you post, please read these few basic rules.
  • Be appropriate. Posts with obscene, explicit, sexist or racist language will be deleted.
  • Be polite. Posts containing personal attacks, insults, or threats will be deleted.
  • Be honest. Potentially libelous statements will be deleted.
  • Don't 'spam'. Posts advertising or promoting commercial products will be deleted.
  • Help monitor your community. Click "Report Abuse" on any entry that violates these guidelines.
  • This is your forum, with your opinions.

These posts do not reflect the views of the The Free Press Standard or its employees.


©2010 The Free Press Standard
Contact the webmaster at: bevans@freepressstandard.com

This website is best viewed in:
Firefox 3 
Honoring our veterans
DSA awards presented
Project aims to bring new life to McCook House
Veterans Day events planned
Grand jury fails to indict Keyser; bus driver remains on paid leave